My Person Through it All

Standard

When I was trying to decide what to write about for today’s post, I ran across a thing on facebook about Grey’s Anatomy and the relationship between Meredith and Christina. It was a letter to someone’s “person.” When I read it, I knew immediately what I needed to post about. I needed to post about my person.

Tammy became my sis-in-law when I married Jeff, my girls’ father. We hit it off immediately and she quickly became more like a sister to me. She was there for me from the beginning, through my pregnancy with Amber, in the delivery room with us, babysitting Amber and then dealing with Amber’s cancer with us. Previously I posted about the question, “How do you do it?” One of the answers to how I made it through that time was Tammy. She was there through it all. She supported me through and held me up when I was down. Most of all she loved me and she loved my daughter.

Every trip to Memphis for many years included Tammy. She would leave behind her husband and three teenagers to go with us. Most of our trips would only be a few days but we did have a few that lasted a week. She stuck right there with us every time. It was only when Amber was about seven or so that Tammy stopped going with us. At that point she had stopped babysitting and had a job that she couldn’t just take off to go with us.

I honestly don’t know what I would have done had it not been for Tammy. Having her during that dark time made it more bearable. Fortunately for me, it didn’t stop there. Even after the girls’ father and I divorced, Tammy and I have stayed close. She has always loved both of my girls just like they were her own and loved me like a sister. The feeling is mutual. We may not get to spend much time together anymore but I can still pick up the phone and call her anytime of the day or night for any reason. She will always be my person.

IMG_0047

This is picture of myself and Tammy many years ago.

29517330-CAB1-4524-872D-4601BEDDAAD9

This is a picture of us taken this May.

Leave a Reply

