Books, Photos & a little bit of everything else: Oct. 28

Standard
  • 1001 Dark Nights-Need You Now by Lisa Renee Jones: Release Day & Review

  • Izzy Moffit’s Road to Wonderland by Victoria L. James: Blog Tour & Giveaway

  • The Truth About Air & Water by Katherine Owen: Blog Tour & Giveaway

  • Rampant by Gemma James: Release Day & Giveaway

  • Broken Creek by Abbie St. Claire: Release Day & Giveaway

  • Teaser Tuesday

  • Low Down & Lush by Selena Laurence: Teaser

Need You Now (1001 Dark Nights)

Book: Need You Now

Series: 1001 Dark Nights

Author: Lisa Renee Jones

Publication Date: October 28, 2014

7d62f-addtogoodreads

1Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

Life is hard. Life leaves you beaten, broken…alone. Then one day, a stranger touches your hand and you feel something intense, unforgettable, but yet, you want to forget. You need to forget. It’s safer than believing in things you’ve decided don’t exist. You know all about shattered promises and lost hope. You know them so much better than you know this excited, warm, wonderful feeling, and it scares you. He scares you, but he also makes you feel alive again. He makes you realize you haven’t really been living. You’re surviving and you fear he’s the one who’ll make you forget how to keep doing it. But what if he’s the one who changes everything?

2Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

I was allowed to read an ARC of this novella in exchange for an honest review. Lisa Renee Jones never disappoints. This was one HOT novella! In addition it had intrigue and suspense that keeps you wondering who to trust. Once you start this one, you will not put it down until you are done. This author can create the most interesting characters and take you for a ride with them, even in a novella!

5Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

afede-amazon1ae74-barnes-and-noble-logo

3Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

Lisa Renee Jones Headshot -275

New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author Lisa Renee Jones is the author of the highly acclaimed INSIDE OUT SERIES, and is now in development by Suzanne Todd (Alice in Wonderland, Austin Powers, Must Love Dogs) for cable TV. In addition, her Tall, Dark and Deadly series and The Secret Life of Amy Bensen series, both spent several months on a combination of the NY Times and USA Today lists.

Since beginning her publishing career in 2007, Lisa has published more than 40 books translated around the world. Booklist says that Jones suspense truly sizzles with an energy similar to FBI tales with a paranormal twist by Julie Garwood or Suzanne Brockmann.

Prior to publishing, Lisa owned multi-state staffing agency that was recognized many times by The Austin Business Journal and also praised by Dallas Women Magazine. In 1998 LRJ was listed as the #7 growing women owned business in Entrepreneur Magazine.

Lisa loves to hear from her readers. You can reach her at www.lisareneejones.com and also find her here:

a2e0b-yes

Book: Izzy Moffit’s Road to Wonderland
Author: Victoria L. James
Genre: New Adult
Synopsis:

Making it to seventeen in one piece isn’t usually a concern for your average teenager, but if there’s one thing Isabella Moffit has never been, it’s average. Dragged through life by parents who couldn’t care less and surrounded by violence on a daily basis, Izzy reaches that epic birthday milestone in her life with only one person to thank for getting her there: her best friend and soul sister, Paris Hemsworth.
Vowing to stand side by side through thick and thin since they were four years old, the two of them have made it this far and are confident that now is their time to tackle the world head on, one shaky, naive little footstep at a time.
Except they have no idea what awaits them both on the other side of adulthood, and before either one of them can strap on their hard hat, they’re taking so many knocks and bruises that Izzy’s childhood suddenly seems like a stroll in the park.
Dodging as many bullets as they can along the way, Izzy tries to hold on to Paris’ hand for as long as possible without either one of them slipping away. But no-one ever told them how rough their journey would be. No-one told them that friends and family would change or leave along the way. And no-one told them that for every good intention they have, there’s a thousand people out there with bad ones, waiting to rip them apart.
Follow Izzy’s journey in part one of the Road to Wonderland series – a coming of age novel with a difference, where you’ll face tears, tantrums, laughter and heartbreak, but above all else, hope. Hope that no matter what life throws your way, it’s all part of setting you on the right path to your very own Wonderland and that, more often than not, everything happens for a reason


Author Bio:

Victoria L James is a teenage girl stuck in a thirty-something year-olds body. Living somewhere ‘oop north’ in England, she has had a strong passion for words and stories going as far back as she can remember, which she credits to her grandmother and her love of reading anything that was on sale and cheap from the local market stall. Never once did she think she would release a novel, though. At best, she thought her love of language and her ability to create stories in her mind would provide her with a ‘get out of jail free’ card whenever she messed up and her parents were mad at her during her teenage years… and when even that didn’t work out, she thought she was pretty much done for.
When an opportunity presented itself for her to take a back seat from paid working life for a few years, she knew straight away that she had to try and write about a few of these worlds she’d come up with along the way, and quieten all the voices in her head without racking up a heavy psychiatry bill for the pleasure.
Wearing her heart on her sleeve and trying to lighten her friends’ and family’s lives with naff, and more often than not, badly timed, nineties jokes, she has yet to learn the art of knowing when to shut up. Which is another reason writing became a passion of hers. With pen and paper, there are no limits.
A firm believer in never quitting, with a ridiculous obsession for all things Rocky, she hopes that one day she writes a story that will inspire at least one person out there to keep on going if they’re struggling. Other than that, she’s just a regular old converse wearing, corona sipping, English version of Chandler Bing, who loves and adores her family more than life itself. Oh, and she also has two cats. Every writer has to mention their cats, right?
Social Links:





Buy Links:




Giveaway:



a2e0b-yes

 

 

The Truth About Air & Water

by

Katherine Owen
(truth in lies book 2)

        

 

The Truth About Air & Water, book 2 in the Truth In Lies Series. READ This Much Is True, book 1 first, although it’s been written as a standalone. Readers say, don’t do that. 


“The world breaks everyone, and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.” -Ernest Hemingway ~ A Farewell To Arms 

They share an epic love but one moment changes everything. A life together that seemed certain is shattered. One learns you never love the same way twice; the other learns what it means to come home. You only think you know how this love story goes, but do you really know how an epic love can end? 

“There are all kinds of love in this world but never the same love twice.” 
-F. Scott Fitzgerald 
She is living color, and I’ve been in a black-and-white world for far too long without her.
Powerful stuff. It surrounds me. I’ve felt it since I first arrived. The forcefield of her. The magnetism of her. The power she wields over me. I’m alive again because of her, like a dying plant that finally gets some water. I’ve got it bad for this girl.
Reality dawns.
The light comes through the darkness and shines on me.
She’s my water.
 
-Lincoln Presley 

The truth is I breathe with him. He is my air. Raison d’etre. 
-Tally Landon 

Author’s note: This novel is part of the Truth In Lies series. It can be read as standalone, however, fans of my fiction already are highly recommending that those new to my work, READ This Much Is True book 1 FIRST. 

As Lincoln Presley would say, “do as you must, Princess.”

 

 

Chapter 2 – Tally

“She’s got the story,” I say to Linc hours later as we lie next to each other taking up only half of the king-sized bed because our bodies remain intertwined at an all but intimate level. The money shot photograph session took twice as long as the interview. After another three hours, we finally told Candy we had to go. I had to pick up Cara from preschool and Linc had a late practice.
We left Candy and her photographer while they were still packing up their gear. By this time, the reporter had given up on asking us any more questions. She had the money shot. She had the story. We weren’t going to like it. The unsettled feeling nagged at me, but Linc didn’t seem to care. “She’s got the story.” Apparently, my fears need repeating.
“So?” He asks with a laugh. “Come here.” He pulls me closer and trails his hands down between my legs knowing full well this is my ultimate weakness for him. I cannot not respond. His touch right there gets me to do just about anything for him. I moan. He laughs again as he starts to make his move.
We put Cara to bed fifteen minutes ago and left the bedroom door slightly ajar so we can hear her but closed enough so she doesn’t hear us. Usually, we wait the agreed-upon half-hour before commencing with doing the deed as I still like to call it, but she was extra tired because I let her stay up late to watch Entangled. I’m not sure she understands the story line completely. I’m not sure I do either but she loves Rapunzel’s long hair. We watched it together while we waited for Linc’s return from practice. Cara played with my hair for most of the movie and kept running her little fingers through it over and over, while I filled out endless wedding invitations, imploring the ninety-five percent of strangers I do not know to come witness our nuptials in the middle of October.
“The article won’t run for weeks. Don’t worry about it. By the time it does, the season will probably be over. We’ll be married. Settled. Nobody is going to care about how we met or what happened in Moscow. They’ll be staring at your photograph, the Dirty Dancing one, and be thinking how did that guy get so lucky and get a girl like her? All those Sports Illustrated fans wishing they were me and holding you up in the air just like Baby.”
“Even the girls?”
He laughs. “Even the girls. When are you going to start believing we’re the two luckiest people in the world?” I turn into him then and stroke his face and search his eyes for solace and truth but I don’t answer. “When are you going to let go and let this happen and believe in it? In me? In us?” Linc asks again.
I trace his lips and kiss him. Lightly. Just a trace.
In the next, he smothers my face with kisses of his own and eventually pulls me up beneath him. “Come on, Tally. Let it go. Let it all go. I’m here. I’m not going anywhere. Don’t put a time clock on this. Don’t walk down the aisle toward me, less than a month from now, still not believing that this isn’t real or this won’t last because it will. I’m here. You’re here. So. Believe it. In me. In us. Now.” He pulls away from me and studies my face. Guilt arrives right on time. I wince along with it.“What is it? What aren’t you telling me? Because with that face? It is definitely something.”
“Dr. Eldon scheduled an ultrasound. I just…she’s optimistic and I just hope that we can find a way to have another child. I want to give you a son because you’ve given so much to me. And I want you to be happy. With me.”
“I am happy with you. I love you because you’re my life. You’re my water. Don’t forget that. I couldn’t survive without you.” He plays with a strand of my hair and lets it slip through his fingers. “And I’m your air.” He sighs a little. “I love you just as you are whether we have more kids or not. That’s why we’re going to make it. But you have to stop believing that something bad is going to happen. You have to believe in us as much as I do. We’re going to have this great life together. We already do. I love you. You love me. And believe me; love is enough. Our love is enough.”
I hold my breath and gaze at him for a long while. The commitment and compassion I see in the depths of his eyes begins to steady me. All the doubt, and even the guilt, begin to fade away. Like a protective shield, his love encircles me from all around.
Then when he pulls me into his arm and looks at me as if I’m the only one that counts, just before he kisses me, it is reassuring in the only way that matters.
Lincoln Presley, baseball star, is one of a kind.
And, he’s mine.
It’s a miracle really.
What an unbelievable stroke of luck at having him in my life and loving me back. I kiss him and let go of all my deep-rooted fears: falling, failing, even losing. I actually feel them disappear as if a strange wind has come by and blown them away.
I take in air—his air—that allows me to live and breathe.
“Okay,” I eventually say.
Then, I grab his hand and lightly kiss the inside of his wrist, and then trail my lips along his broad chest. He leans back against the pillows with a knowing look pulling me along with him, but cedes all control to me. I start to smile, but then another errant thought crashes in on me and threatens to undo all of these joyous declarations.
Everything breaks. 

 

International bestselling author of the New Adult Novel, This Much Is True and the most recently released second novel in the Truth In Lies series of The Truth About Air & Water.
Katherine Owen writes contemporary edgy fiction, which translates to: she writes love stories that are contemporary in setting and both edgy and dark. Some readers term her books emotional roller coasters. She is not sorry. Owen writes about trust, love, and fate and how relationships are often tested by all of these things in one way or another. Love, loss, and starting over.
Connect with her on:

 

The Truth About Air & Water (truth in lies book 2)

 

~ Add The Truth About Air & Water (Truth In lies, #2) on Goodreads!

Buy Links:

 

This Much is True (book 1) currently on sale $0.99
Both on the verge of fame. A ballerina who lies. A baseball player who believes her. Well, the truth changes everything. 

Tally Landon is just trying to survive the death of her twin sister, graduate from high school, and escape her tragic story by pursuing her ballet career in New York. She doesn’t count on Lincoln Presley, Stanford’s baseball wonder, to affect her at all. Adding him to a long list of one-night stands is the plan. Lying to him about her age and name is her standard method of operandi. She doesn’t count on being found out, on seeing him again, or falling in love. 

Lincoln Presley’s life is all mapped out for him. There is only baseball. With Major League Baseball circling their favorite prospect with a lucrative offer, he cannot afford to mess up. And, he doesn’t; until he meets up with the girl he saved in that burning wreckage on the 101 on Valentine’s Day months before. By the time he learns her real name and of all the lies she’s told, he’s in far too deep to ever really let her go. 

Fate has a different set of plans, but when fame and lies tear them apart, one truth remains. 


~Add This Much Is True (Truth In Lies, #1) on Goodreads!

Buy Links:

 

 

a2e0b-yes
rampant release day

Release Day Event

Rampant EBOOK

Book Title: Rampant
Author: Gemma James
Genre: Dark Romance (Novella)
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

Synopsis

Life is twisted. Cruel. After being ripped from the safe haven of Rafe’s arms, my new kidnapper is waging a sick game. Unable to make my body do his bidding, he’s resorting to psychological warfare. He’ll bend my mind until I break, and when I do, that just might be my saving grace.

I’ll forge through hell to get back to Rafe, body and spirit broken and bleeding, but I’m unprepared for what I find. He’s done what I can’t: he’s erased eight years of pain and betrayal. I don’t know how to bring him back to me, because bringing him back means ripping him to shreds all over again.

Meet the Author

MeBW

Gemma James is the multi-genre author of several novels and novellas, from new adult suspense to dark erotic romance. She loves to explore the darker side of human nature in her fiction. She’s morbidly curious about anything dark and edgy, from deviant sex to serial killers. Readers have described her stories as being “not for the faint of heart.” She lives in Oregon with her husband and their four children‹three rambunctious UFC/wrestling-loving boys and one girl who steals everyone¹s attention.

Teasers

Rampant2

KP1 - 9-23

KP3

KP2

playlist

Social Links

FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINAL

NEWSLETTER

Buy the Book

Rampant duo

Amazon: Torrent (Condemned Book 1)
Amazon: Rampant (Condemned Book 2)

Amazon UK FinalB&N FINALkobo-icon FINALsmashwords button FINALibooks button FINAL

Giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

promotionsbutton with TRIM

6a23b-yes


Book: Broken Creek
Author: Abbie St Claire
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Synopsis
A woman whose past holds her hostage…
A man who can’t let the past go…
A favor that brings them together again…
Pro fisherman, Stephan Hart let the best thing in his life get away. When Wrenn Cunningham ended their relationship, she was broken. He was shattered.
At age 17, Wrenn suffers a tragic event at the hands of her father in the barn on their property. When he dies, he takes their secret to his grave. To others, Wrenn’s small-town life in Arkansas might appear boring, but in reality, it’s far from easy. The daily physical and financial struggle to help her mother keep their ranch after her father’s untimely death begins to take a toll. Receiving a nursing school scholarship to a North Texas University means a chance to move away from her tiny existence and start over. It means a chance to leave her secret behind.

If only life was that simple… Nightmares find you no matter where you are.

Author Bio

I’ve spent many years crafting stories in my brain. Finally, after the encouragement from those that love and support me the most, I put my first story out by self-publishing in 2013.
That first milestone created a writing monster in me that couldn’t be stopped and filled a void I cannot explain. Each story is a true gift from my heart and a sacrifice from my soul, since I find it difficult to let the characters go.
At home in Texas, my husband and I share our life with children that mean the world to us and include a couple of fur babies. When we aren’t busy watching sports and betting on the game, we are entertaining with friends.
I do have a writing cave, but honestly, most of my work comes from the kitchen, the heartbeat of any home. Since noise doesn’t disturb me too much when writing, I can write and keep the pulse on the family at the same time. And… Possibly enjoy my favorite, sinful treat… Cookie dough!
The writer-reader world is my lifeline. I’m addicted and each time I get a message from a reader, I’m thrilled. There’s quite a few stories planned for the next several months. I’m hoping the readers fall in love with my next series, The Creek Series. A story that is guaranteed to bring out all the emotions.
Social Links

Buy Links


Amazon.com

Other Books in the Series:
Forgiveness Creek


Pre-Order (releases 11th November)









Redemption Creek 



Pre Order (releases 25th November)






Giveaway
a2e0b-yes

Teaser Tuesday

OCT28_CCKOEN

Title: Intensity
Author: CC Koen
Genre: Contemporary Romance/New Adult
Release Date: October. 13, 2014

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | WEBSITE | GOODREADS | BLOG

AMAZON | B&N | KOBO | iTUNES

 

Book Enthusiast Promotions

a2e0b-yes

Displaying L3  Teaser - Mike is Sex DATED.jpg

Low Down and Lush (Lush No.3 )
Selena Laurence
Releases 11/18
#LushSeries
Leave a Reply

