Books, Photos & a little bit of everything else: Oct. 18

Standard
  • Killer Date by Kathy Clark: Book Blitz & Giveaway

  • Smoldering by Tiffany Aleman: Book Blitz & Giveaway

killer date book blitz

Book Blitz

KILLER DATE FINAL

Book Title: Killer Date
Author: Kathy Clark
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Release Date: August 1, 2014
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

Synopsis

Recommended for 17 years and older – language / sexual situations / mature subject matter

An inheritance brought him more than he ever could have imagined…

Reno Marks, one of the new owners of the Scandals Investigation Agency, is first on the case to help Jennifer Caldwell find her missing sister, Angie. It’s not that he’s anxious to help so much as it is that he is attracted to Jenny. A little research shows that Angie has run off for a quickie vacation with her new boyfriend. Reno and Jenny’s romantic evening is cut short when that new boyfriend, who just happens to be the son of a powerful drug lord, arrives on Jenny’s doorstep with near-fatal gunshot wounds and evidence that Angie has been taken hostage by a rival Mexican drug cartel.

With the help of a rogue DEA agent, Reno and Jenny set off to infiltrate the cartel’s desert compound and bring Angie home. Their mission quickly gets out of control as they are discovered and chased through a tunnel system that threatens to bury them alive. Even when they think they’re safe, they’re actually trespassing in an even more dangerous place where everyone wants them dead.

During their intense time together, Reno’s feelings for Jenny have grown, but even if they are able to survive, is it possible for these two lost souls to have a future together?

Reno, whose last job had been as a magician in Vegas, doesn’t have enough tricks up his sleeve to save them…or to convince Jenny to stay.

Killer Date is the second book in the Scandals New Adult series of romantic suspense. Each book of the series will focus on one of the offspring of Roger Elliott, a famous musician who left them with a legacy they weren’t expecting. Worse Date Ever, the third book in this series will be released in Winter, 2015 and will tell Tulsa’s story.

Meet the Author

Kathy Clark’s 23 women’s fiction (romance) novels have sold over 3 million copies in more than 10 languages and have been on the New York Times’ bestsellers’ list and won her numerous awards.
In September 2012 she launched a new suspense series, Denver After Dark centered on three brothers, one a cop, one a firefighter and one a paramedic. The first book, After Midnight has been named as the Best Indie Suspense of 2013 and won a prestigious 2013 Readers’ Favorite Suspense Award. Cries in the Night is Book #2 in the Series and Deep Night, Book #3 will be released in Fall, 2014.

Also in 2012 Kathy teamed up with her husband Bob Wernly to write a Young Adult Time Travel Mystery/Romance series called CUL8R (See You Later) under the pen name of Bob Kat. Book #1 OMG (Oh My God), when they go back to 1966 to save a girl’s life, was released in October, 2012 and was named as the Best Indie Young Adult Suspense of 2013 and was a Beverly Hills Book Awards finalist. Book #2 BRB (Be Right Back), when they travel back to 1980, recently won First Place in the Readers’ Favorite Young Adult Awards 2013. Book #3 BION (Believe It Or Not), when they go back to 1927 and join a circus to save a boy, was just released in July, 2013. All three books in this series have received rave reviews and 4 and 5 star ratings. Book #4 RIP (Rest in Peace), a ghost story set at the famous Stanley Hotel in 1911 will be released in January, 2014. Kathy and Bob also wrote Life’s What Happens, a fictionalized version of his fraternity days at Kent State University in 1970 that mixes the drama of senior year with the first military draft lottery, the Vietnam war and the Kent State shootings. This novel was named as a finalist in the Best Indie Mainstream Book of 2013 Awards.

Kathy and Bob also write a New Adult series called Scandals with the first book Due Dates and the second book Killer Date scheduled for August, 2014. Book #3 Worst Date Ever will be out in 2015.

Kathy is currently a member of Mystery Writers of America, Sisters in Crime, Romance Writers of America and was on the board of directors of national RWA and Colorado Romance Writers for several years. Her books and screenplays have won numerous awards, including top honors from Romantic Times, Colorado Romance Writer of the Year, two RITAs and several film festival screenwriting competitions. When not writing, she and Bob love to travel, hang out on beaches, spend time with their five sons, go to movies or just play with their dogs and their turtles.

Her complete list of books and awards go to https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kathy_Clark_(American_author)

excerpt

My phone alarm went off at 9:30. I had left myself little time to get ready before Nick’s appointment, but I needed the sleep more than I needed to shave. Besides, most women like a little stubble. Hopefully, it would prove irresistible to Jenny.

I wasn’t quite sure what to expect today. Should I go wake her up with a kiss? Or maybe more? I was at the top of my game now…rested and ready to go the distance. We could be a few minutes late.

I brushed my teeth and dressed, then spent a few minutes getting my hair just right. I wasn’t girly about it, but I liked my hair to have just the right level of planned casualness…a sort of tousled effect. I stared critically at my image in the mirror. My hair was thick and such a dark shade of brown that it looked black. It wasn’t short, but not really long, partially covering my ears and almost to the collar of my t-shirt.

It was my eyes that were my most striking feature. They were a startling light blue, almost the color of those crystal blue ice cliffs in Alaska. I had always thought they were unique…until I met Killeen, Tulsa, Liberty and Dallas. Apparently, it was the one physical feature we had all inherited from Roger…and it was the identifier that had confirmed our place in this unusual family of ours.

My face wasn’t GQ elegant like Dallas’, but I had been told by plenty of women…and a few men…that it was more ruggedly handsome with square jaws and a nose that had just the smallest bump that I had earned in a fight with one of my mother’s “dates”. He and I had disagreed on whether or not he had the right to hit my mother. It had been the first time I had faced my own mortality. I knew if I didn’t give it all I had that he would beat me senseless or maybe even to death. So, I’d walked away with a broken nose while he had a bloodied eye, missing teeth, a couple broken ribs…and a quick exit out our front door.

I really thought Mom would be grateful, but she lit into me about running off her boyfriend. It had been my first lesson in how much I didn’t know about women.

I gave my hair one last flick, then went next door to Jenny’s room. I knocked gently, expecting her to still be asleep. When the door pulled open, and I saw her, completely dressed and wide awake, I struggled to hide my disappointment. “You look rested. Dylan must have left you alone.”

“I fell asleep as soon as I got to bed, and I don’t think I moved at all,” she told me. “I don’t usually get more than five or six hours of sleep a night.”

I was standing just outside her door, and she motioned me to come in.

“I need to talk to you for a second,” she continued.

Of course, I assumed this was an invitation to pick up on our make-out session, so I stepped inside, trying not to look as eager as I felt.

She sucked in a deep breath and continued, “Yesterday night…before Miguel showed up…was…”

I waited. Fantastic. Amazing. Exciting. I tried to guess the word she would use.

“…a mistake,” she stated. “I can’t blame it on those lemonade things because by the time we…uh…you know…I was completely sober.” She gave me an apologetic smile that was really more of a grimace. “I think I was just lonely. I hope you didn’t read too much into it.”

“Me? Nah…it was one of those spur-of-the-moment things.” That was what came out of my mouth, but inside my head, it was what the fuck?

Her face relaxed with relief. “Oh, good. I was afraid this would be awkward. Don’t take this wrong, but you’re not really my type. I’m more into the clean-cut, preppie types, and you’re…well…sort of wild and have all the show biz stuff going on.”

“Sure, I get it.” But I didn’t get it at all. She had stolen my line. Jenny wasn’t my type. She wore her hair too short, she had never experienced life outside of Austin and she was too much of a workaholic. The twinkle in her eyes, the perfect voluptuous body and the tempting curve of her lips had temporarily distracted me.

“Whew!” I said with pretended gratitude. “I’m glad we got that settled.” I glanced at the door, as anxious to escape as I had been to knock on it just a few minutes ago. “I think I smell breakfast. John’s an amazing cook.”

“Good. I’m starving.”

She brushed past me and headed down the hallway. I followed, but I felt like I had just been hit by a truck. That wasn’t at all the way I had expected today to go.

Social Links

FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINALPinterest Button FINALblog buttontumblr-icon FINAL

NEWSLETTER

Goodreads Button with Shadow

Buy the Book

KILLER DATE FINAL

Amazon FinalAmazon UK Final

Giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

promotionsbutton with TRIM

a2e0b-yes

 

SYNOPSIS

Money     ~    power     ~     fame

Kelsey
Growing up in the arms of one of the wealthiest families in America, I lived a champagne lifestyle and never wanted for anything.
That life came with stipulations…
M  Marry the man I don’t love.
2.    Make my parents proud.

Wrong.
I left my Manolos and fancy apartment behind and fled that life to find out who I really was.
Someone unexpected bulldozed my life.

Riley Jackson

 He was the man everyone, including me, wanted, but his future was one I wasn’t sure I wanted to thrust myself back into. And when he chose a career over the family business, his family supported him instead of pushing him away.
My past collided with my future.
 
I didn’t see it coming. If I had, I would’ve ran far, far away.
Now I’m stuck in the same position I started in two years ago, except this time, it’s not my decision to make.
Loyalty to your family? Loyalty to your own happiness?
Which would you choose?
 

 

EXCERPT

The past week has been pure hell. After I left his parents’ house, something shifted in our relationship, and it wasn’t for the better. I knew the moment
Todd called me his ex-fiancé in front of everyone, things between Riley and I would never be the same. I could feel it deep within my soul. It was like all
the air had been sucked out of the room and I couldn’t breathe. Now, I’m suffocating.
That was seven days ago.
Seven days that my calls and texts have gone unanswered.
Seven days since I’ve seen him.
I’d like to chalk it up to he’s just busy but I know differently. Sleep has evaded me. My appetite is no longer existent. I stay holed up in my room, only leaving for work. I’m living like a hermit. I’ve become a shell of the person I was a week ago. Jen has exhausted all her efforts to make me feel better, but it’s no use. In a million pieces, I left my heart in a driveway in Alabama and, for the first time in my life, I don’t know how to cope.
After deciding that I’m finished trying to get him to come to me, I make the decision to go to him. In a pair of sweat pants and a ratted T-shirt, I pull myself out of bed, not giving a damn how I look. He needs to see what his avoidance has done to me. I go into the bathroom and what I see in the mirror doesn’t surprise me at all. Bloodshot eyes, the tip of my nose and lips red and swollen, and my hair a mess, at least I look how I feel, like shit. For the
first time in days, I brush my teeth and even the fresh feeling doesn’t improve my mood. I pull my hair back in a messy bun and decide that’s as good as it’s going to get.
“Where are you going?” Jen asks cautiously as I pick up my purse off the bookshelf by the couch.
“Out,” I answer in a monotone voice, the same voice she’s heard all week.
“Kelsey, I don’t think that’s a good ide—,” she states, but I don’t let her finish as I walk out the door, promptly shutting it on her response.
As I walk out into the humid summer air that the end of July brings, I make my way to my car. It’s pouring out, which causes me to laugh out sardonically. The irony of the storm brewing above matches the tidal wave of emotions happening within me. Realistically, I know, in the state I’m in, I probably shouldn’t be driving, but I’m to the point that I just don’t give a shit anymore.
I’m not sure how I make it to Riley’s house in one piece. On a normal day, the drive would have taken me thirty minutes without traffic, but in a storm, it
should have taken me longer. Magically, I make it there in fifteen. And here I sit, probably looking like a stalker, in the driveway parked behind his car. A
silver Mercedes occupies the spot where I normally park. Thunder and lightning collide in the night sky, rattling the windows in my car. Rain pours down in sheets, soaking me to the bone as soon as I step out of my car to make my way up the walkway and stairs until I’m standing at the front entrance.
On the other side of this door is the one person that can make all the hurt I’ve been feeling this past week disappear. Pain pierces straight through my heart at the thought of not seeing him again. I sniffle back the tears that I’ve been crying for days. My hands brace my weight against the doorframe as memories of us assault me. The night at City Market when we danced in the middle of Ellis Square, our first technical date, the Blackhawk, the first time we made love, the first time he told me he loved me. I squeeze my eyes shut tightly willing the memories, the happiest memories I’ve ever known, to stop. Tears mix in with the rain as they both flow down my face. Heaving a deep breath, I push myself upright, square my shoulders, and hold my head up high. If this is it, if what we have is really over, then he better be man enough to tell me to my face. The unknown of what is about to come out of this whole situation scares the shit out of me, but I need to know. Slowly, I raise my fist to knock on the door when it suddenly flies open and what I see makes me want to vomit all over again.
A tall, blonde pulls at the hem of her shirt as she rights herself. My eyes feel like they are about to pop out as my mouth opens and shuts as if I’m about to
say something. Smeared lipstick stains her cheeks and I’m not sure who’s more shocked, her or me. When my wide eyes meet hers, it literally feels as if a knife has stabbed me in the stomach. If I thought for one second that this past week showed me what actual pain was, I was dead wrong. My knees feel as if they’re about to give way beneath my weight as I stare at the woman in front of me. She smiles at me and her eyes rake over my body, clearly deciding that I’m no competition for her. I look past her to see Riley sitting on the couch in just his jeans, his head in his hands. A tumbler filled with amber liquid rests in front of him on the coffee table.
“Are you fucking serious right now?” I ask through a sob.
The woman looks back at him over her shoulder before turning to look at me. She shrugs her shoulders and says, “Maybe you’ll do the trick. He couldn’t even get it up because he’s so drunk.”
I storm past her, shoving her out of the way, as I make my way to stand directly in front of Riley.
“Hey, bitch, watch it,” she shouts.
When I look at her, she must realize that I’m about to release the hounds of hell in this house because she slowly begins her retreat out the door.
“Get. The. Fuck. Out.” The menacing tone of my voice scares even me.
As soon as the door clicks shut behind her, I turn all my anger, hurt, and rage on the only man deserving of my wrath.
“You have something you want to tell me?” I ask. Tears flow freely down my face. There’s no use in trying to conceal them. They just continue to race down my face on their own accord.
He shakes his head from side to side, groaning.
“I asked you a fucking question.”
When he looks up at me, I literally drop to my knees. His eyes are just as bloodshot as mine. The scent of whiskey seeps out of his pores. The evidence of lipstick runs down his neck, across his jaw, and on his lips. My hand flies to my mouth as bile rises in my throat.
“I am so fucking sorry,” he whispers, shaking his head and his eyes holding a vacant stare.

PURCHASE LINKS
Barnes and Noble http://bit.ly/1k3ziya 
AUTHOR MEDIA LINKS
 
Twitter: @tiffany_aleman
 
BOOK BLITZ HOSTED BY:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Leave a Reply

