Books, Photos & a little bit of everything else

Standard
  • Fissure Free by Shari J. Ryan:  Blog Tour & Giveaway

  • Say the Word by Julie Johnson Cover Reveal

  • Teaser Tuesday

  • Sugar Baby Lies by C.S. Janey Release Blitz & Giveaway

 

 







Author Shari J Ryan reunites the colorful cast of friends and family in Book 2 of the Schasm Series with a powerful tribute to the power of the mind and heart in this romantic, suspenseful, and engaging novel.

After nineteen years of suffering with a psychological condition, ethereal Chloe had finally come close to finding her ultimate escape—or, so she thinks on the vibrant streets of Paris.

Finally in a relationship with Alex, a man she fell in love with in Schasm, Chloe thinks life is finally coming together. As she battles her own demons, she attempts to repair the damaged man she’s grown to love. But as his clouded past abruptly crashes into their lives and falls heavily upon their budding romance, Chloe must fight to maintain her relationship.

Although even when the problems begin to subside, she comes to realize certain things cannot be escaped. Franco, her disillusioned, serial-killing uncle has taken up residency in Chloe and Alex’s life. In search for an item that belongs to Chloe, Franco will deceive, connive and conquer until he finds what he is after—that is, unless, Chloe finds a way to beat him at his own game.

Just as Chloe believes she might have sealed the doors of darkness once and for all, new questions, new findings and new inceptions arise. Whether or not Chloe wants to continue forward with the path her life seems to be leading, she quickly learns that any choice she makes will ultimately land her in a place she never knew she was destined to be.

 

 

 

My heart quakes against my sternum. My stomach feels like stone, and my throat is clenching in on itself. I walk to the other bar covered window, completely horrified. I curl my fingers around the damp, ice-cold bars, and I pull myself up, pressing my face against the metal to look out.
The hallway is just as dark and abandoned as this room. The walls are painted a sea green. They’re cracked and peeling, and old rusty handcuffs hang from chains that line the wall. I peer down the other end of the hall, somewhat curious and somewhat petrified as to what I might see. The words “help me” are smeared along the wall in what looks to be blood.
Against my desire, I take in every detail of this deserted passageway, hoping to gain insight on where we might be. But I’m lost and dumfounded. An abandoned institution is the best I can come up with.
Sounds of footsteps arise from the depths of the barren walls, and the dissonance increases with each footstep, warning me that someone is coming. The hallway only has two directions and I don’t see anyone in either.
I’m going crazy.
I could only hope.
The footsteps stop, as does the beating of my heart. I close my eyes and pull in a deep lungful. But I inhale someone else’s warm, stale breath. My eyes snap open, and two large bulging brown eyes stare back at me. My chest caves in. My lungs struggle to move, and I fall backwards.

Shari J. Ryan hails from Central Massachusetts where she lives with her hubby and two lively little boys. Writing has become Shari’s great escape from the real world over the past few years. After a bout of postpartum depression with her first child, Shari was determined to occupy her brain enough to eliminate some of the blue moments in life. When she found writing to help as a newfound therapy, she started her first book. Her books brought her out of postpartum depression and helped her overcome it when her second son was born. Shari likes to think writing saves her mind. She even used one of the characters in the book (the main character’s protagonist mother), to veer away from the type of person she refuses to become. Shari has two happy little boys and the Schasm series to show for her unorthodox therapeutic method.

Website: http://sharijryan.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/authorsharijryan

Twitter: https://twitter.com/sharijryan

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/ShariRyan

Chloe Valcourt drifts between two worlds: the dark reality of her domineering mother and feeble father and the vivid fantasy of her imagination. With her condition comes the harsh observation of doctors who intend to cure her of it. But a chance encounter with a handsome and vaguely familiar young man in her dream world hints at the possibility of hidden truths—and a life she can’t remember. As her drifts become a greater escape from the cruelty of the real world, Chloe finds herself lost between what is real and what is imagined, questioning her very existence. Can she remain in the lush new imagined landscape to find happiness in a realm of her own invention? Is she doomed to return to the harsh reality of the outside world forever? Or will she become trapped somewhere between the two…unable to return to either?

 

Cover Reveal

STWFRONT

Book Title: Say the Word
Author: Julie Johnson
Genre: New Adult
Release Date: June 5, 2014
Hosted by: Book Enthusiast Promotions

1Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

“The heart isn’t like the liver. It doesn’t regenerate, no matter how much time passes. Once it’s gone, it’s gone for good. I’d left mine with Sebastian when I walked away that day, and I hadn’t seen it in the seven years since.” — Lux Kincaid

At eighteen, Lux is forced to make a choice. One that nearly destroys her.

She breaks a boy’s heart.

She breaks her own, too.

Seven years later, Lux never expects to see Sebastian again — especially not when her career as a journalist is hanging by a thread and she’s stumbled onto the story of a lifetime. As she chases down leads and explores the dark underbelly of Manhattan, Lux will put her life on the line. But after crossing paths with a still-unforgiving Sebastian, it’s her heart she’s most worried about.

Amidst the blame and the betrayal, the hurt and the heartbreak… can two lost lovers ever find their way back to one another?

Lines will be blurred. The past will be unearthed. And Lux will find out that some secrets aren’t meant to be kept…

6Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

I’m not a bad person.

I vote, I pay my taxes on time, and I make funny faces at babies in the supermarket to make them laugh. I tear up at those awful animal cruelty commercials Sarah McLaughlin is always singing on, and I shower on a regular basis. I donate to charities even though I’m still juggling monthly student loan and car payments on top of my rent and grocery expenses. I stay out of the drama at work because work is hard enough to get through without wondering which of my catty coworkers is going to stab me in the back with a knife clutched in her perfectly manicured fingers. I don’t smoke or drink excessively – fine, I admit, occasionally I may indulge in a few too many glasses of merlot, but nobody’s perfect – and I force myself to go running in Central Park at least three times a week. By anyone’s standards, I’m normal. A girl with her act together. Some might even call me “nice” and, for the most part, they’d be right.

I’m not a bad person.

I’m just not a particularly good one either.

To be fair, you can’t ever really consider yourself a good person when you’ve been single-handedly responsible for the utter destruction of another person’s happiness. And that’s really the only term you can use to describe what I did to Sebastian Covington all those years ago – I destroyed him. I watched unflinchingly as the life and love drained out of his eyes, and walked away without a backward glance.

It’s kind of funny how a decision you make when you’re eighteen can change your whole life forever. And by funny I mostly mean absolutely fucking terrible. When I broke off our relationship, I knew I was hurting him worse than he’d ever been hurt. Harder, though, was the knowledge that I was putting myself through unimaginable pain from which I would never recover.

I still remember that evening so clearly; I don’t think I’ll ever forget it. Two eighteen year old kids, standing at our spot by the old oak behind his house. The hot summer sun was setting and a slight breeze chilled the air as we stood a few paces apart staring at one another. Bash could read me better than anyone – even before I’d spoken, I think he knew what was coming. His eyes had changed, an unfamiliar wariness filling them as soon as my lips parted.

I’d taken a deep breath and forced myself to say the words that would tear us apart forever. And when I’d turned my back and walked away, haunted by the look of betrayal and incomprehension in his eyes, I’d known we’d never speak again. The damage I’d inflicted with my words had cut too deep to ever really heal. I didn’t let myself cry then – that would come later, when I was alone in my bedroom and could finally allow the dull ache of my shattered heart to spread through my system like a lethal paralytic.

I’d known then, at eighteen, that my case of heartbreak was terminal, incurable. It wasn’t “puppy love” or “first love” or any of the loves that supposedly fade with time and large quantities of ice cream. Because when you walk away from your soul mate – when you take real, true love and throw it in the fire and watch as it burns down to ashes – you know you’ll never be the same again. The heart isn’t like the liver; it doesn’t regenerate, no matter how much time passes. Once it’s gone, it’s gone for good.

I’d left mine with Sebastian when I walked away that day, and I hadn’t seen it in the seven years since.

3Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

Julie Johnson is a twenty-two year old Boston native. When she’s not writing, Julie can most often be found drinking too much coffee, stalking Goodreads for new books to add to her ever-growing TBR list, watching reruns of Veronica Mars, or studying psychology. Julie enjoys cooking, travel, photography, and spending time with her friends and family.

You can find Julie on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/juliejohnsonbooks or on her website at http://www.juliejohnsonbooks.com. Sometimes, when she can figure out how Twitter works, she tweets from @AuthorJulie.

4Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

FB button FINALtwitter button FinalWebsite buttonGoodreadsFINAL

Goodreads Button with Shadow

smaller SAYTHEWORDJULIEJOHNSONCOVER.jpg

promotionsbutton with TRIM
6a23b-yes

Teaser Tuesday

 

Tuesday Teaser shutterstock_100818289 copy

Title: Academy of Love
Author: Kate Deveaux
Genre: Erotic Romance
Release Date: September 1, 2013

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | WEBSITE | GOODREADS | PINTEREST

AMAZON | B&N | RED SAGE

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47


Roxy-Teaser-3

Title: The Seduction
Author: Roxy Sloane
Genre: Erotic Romance
Release Date: May 29, 2014

FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS

goodreads-badge-add-plus-d700d4d3e3c0b346066731ac07b7fe47

Book Enthusiast Promotions
6a23b-yes
Title: Sugar Baby Lies 
Author: C.S. Janey
Genre: Contemporary Adult Romance
Release Date: May 7, 2014
 
5Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

1Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

 

A sugar baby in love. A doctor with a heartbreaking secret. And a love neither of them ever expected to find. Lucy McPherson struggled all of her adult life to take care of her daughter and later, her mother. At the age of twenty-eight, she became a ‘companion’ to Bradley Blackwell, seeing him one weekend a month and being compensated handsomely enough to ease her worries. Two years in, Lucy realizes she’s broken rule #1 and fallen in love. Afraid of losing him, Lucy keeps her feelings private, only for Bradley to begin acting strangely and breaking the rules himself. When she finds out the past that Bradley has kept hidden from her and the world, she begins questioning their whole relationship. The revelations leave her wondering if she is truly the one with the most to lose…or if he is.

 

6Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

His mouth descended upon mine. I opened instantly, hungry for my first taste of him and it didn’t disappoint. The taste of the brandy mixed with the light scent of his cologne filling my senses thanks to his closeness had me moaning into his mouth. He released my chin and slid his hand down to mine, tugging the tie out of my hands.

Our mouths still connected, he led me backward toward the bed until the underside of my legs connected with it. Our mouths parted as I fell onto my back. My eyes flew open only to see him taking off his shirt and tossing it aside.

“Put your hands above your head,” he commanded, his voice thick with desire and matching the look on his face. One that showed just how much he wanted to devour me. A similar look, I’m sure, to the one on mine as well. “One on top of the other, back to palm.”

I obeyed immediately and soon found my hands bound at the wrists with the tie, fastened snugly enough I couldn’t escape but not cut off circulation. Then he hovered over me, covering my body with his, one hand planted to the side of my head as the other traveled up one stockinged leg. His grey eyes glittered as they slid underneath my skirt, only to go molten at discovering the garter belt I wore. His hand paused, gaze clashing with mine as the corner of his mouth quirked up.

“You dressed for the occasion, I see,” Bradley said, the low timbre combined with his hot look sending shivers down my spine. “I’m pleased at your foresight, Lucy.”

Unable to escape his stare, one that watched me with such desire and amusement, I simply smiled and said, “If you’re happy, I’m happy.” And I meant it. He didn’t have to know that even though we’d discussed his preferences, I still found myself nervous and believing I wouldn’t be able to please him.

He didn’t look away, his eyes locked with mine as his hand moved up the rest of my thigh before sliding around to the curve of my ass, only to discover that it was bare. His moan at this revelation joined my gasp at the hot caress of his hand on a place nobody had touched me in a very long time. He took my mouth with his own, seeking entrance I easily gave him while his hand explored, sliding and cupping my backside.

He started to divest me of my clothing, pulling my skirt down. I kicked it off as his hands went to my shirt and giggled when he pulled his mouth away from mine, scowling down at me as he realized his error. “Shit. I forgot to take your shirt off before I tied your hands.”

I grinned, wiggling my fingers at him while trying to hide my embarrassment at my mostly naked state and resisted the urge to cover myself. “Out of practice, are you?”

He shook his head, refusing to answer as he straightened. He walked over to his nightstand and opened up the drawer. My eyes widened as he held up a pair of scissors and walked back toward me.

3Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

 

C.S. Janey is a big fan of romance — writing and reading.
The mother of one, she currently spends her days writing, reading, procrastinating, and protecting her son from himself as he pretends that he is a superhero.
Sugar Baby Lies is her third novel and a complete standalone.
Her first novel, Surrender To You, is the first in a series, but may be read as a standalone. The story is a contemporary adult romance with characters in their late 20s, early 30s. The other books in the series will involve secondary characters introduced in the first.
Love Renewed is her second contemporary adult romance. The first in her Love Trilogy, it can be enjoyed as a standalone novella. The other two books in the series, Love Desired (#2), featuring Ramsey and Arabella, and Love Hidden (#3), featuring Gwyneth and Lucien, will soon follow.
You can find all her novels, present and hopefully in the future, on Amazon, B&N, Kobo, All Romance eBooks, iBooks and Smashwords, as well as those they distribute to — if applicable.
C.S. Janey also writes under Violet Haze.

4Free Etsy Banner collection by FPTFY 1

Sign up for her bi-monthly (never more) newsletter HERE
Leave a Reply

